Gluten Free Oatmeal Cookie Bars

Hi everyone, I hope you’re having a great Monday so far!

Yesterday, I finally had the chance to make Oh She Glows’, Toffee Cinnamon Oatmeal Cookie Bars. I have been following Angela’s blog for a while now and I also have her amazing cookbook! The food she makes is delicious, so I was very excited to try out this one. Particularly because it’s gluten free and I love oatmeal cookies.

I had almost every ingredient needed for the recipe with the exception of flax seed and coconut sugar. No worries though, I substituted chia seeds for the flax seed and brown sugar for the coconut sugar. Because chia seeds absorb more water in comparison to flax seeds, instead of adding 3 tablespoons of water (as suggested), I used 5-6 tablespoons for the flax egg.

IMG_7069

I could not stop eating them- they were just so amazing! Plus, because they’re a little healthier, I didn’t feel as bad hehe. I can’t even begin to describe how much I love the texture. It’s crispy on the edges and chewy in the middle. Although it’s chewy, you can really “crunch” the oatmeal and chia seeds (if that makes sense) which I love.

IMG_7075

Definitely making more of these in the future!

P.S. My 21 days challenge is going very well so far. Maybe not in all the goals, but for sure in the gluten goal. I haven’t had gluten since September 1st 😀

2 thoughts on “Gluten Free Oatmeal Cookie Bars

Leave a Reply

