Hair Routine & My Experience at Habit Salon

Growing up, I hated my hair because I had the curliest baby hairs that would literally be all over the place. I was always the girl coming out of the hair salon bawling because the hairdresser cut it “too short.” I don’t cry anymore (thank God) and my hair is actually my favorite feature now.

I dyed my hair by myself since 10th grade using a box-dye. I used Revlon’s Colorsilk dye in medium ash blonde. I know it’s such a light color, but it’s the only shade that will lighten my dark asian hair. I did it every 4 months and I loved how lightening my hair made me look tanner and healthier. But over time, I got bored and decided I wanted to sombre my hair (subtle ombre) and add highlights to it instead. I found Habit Salon through Amber Fillerup’s Instagram and I booked an appointment with Becky at Habit Salon. Check out their Instagram page; their work is amazing.

Habit uses a technique called hair painting. The nice thing about hair painting is that because the color is painted on below your roots, it grows out more naturally, requiring little maintenance. Becky painted streaks throughout my hair with bleach and covered them in aluminum foils. After the bleaching process was done, she shampooed and toned my hair so it wasn’t brassy. I opted for a neutral/ash-y undertone, but I wish I went with a more caramel undertone like she suggested. I feel like the ash is a little too grey for me. So although I didn’t end up ombre-ing my hair, I definitely got gorgeous highlights. I’ll be booking another appointment soon so I’ll sombre it then. I definitely recommend Becky and you can see exactly how she hair paints in this video here!

IMG_0050 habitThe interior design at Habit is so chic! Pricing depends on the skill of the hairstylist but hair painting starts at $90 and each additional bowl used for color is $15. I believe Becky’s starting price was $115. I paid $170 for the coloring alone.

f4fc444483f415dc3e6020dfd99430d3 The pictures below are prior to dying my hair at Habit Salon. In the prom picture below (taken exactly a year ago), my hair looks lighter than it actually was, but wanted to give you an idea of how long my hair used to be.

IMG_0084 This picture was taken about a month ago. My hair looks shorter than it is but it’s at chest level right now. I cut it back in November- shortest I’ve gone in a while- but it’s grown a lot since. Short hair was so nice for a change, but I think I’m going to grow it out again. IMG_0052 The products below are ones I use daily or every time I style my hair. They all smell amazingAfter Party has a lotion-like formula to it. I use it whenever I want to smooth out any frizz out of my hair. The leave-in conditioner from healthy sexy hair has replaced my old-time favorite one from “It’s a 10.” After I wash my hair, I spritz this into my hair and comb it through. The hairspray and heat tamer spray are pretty self-explanatory and do their job very well. Now my favorite hair product in the entire world is Triple Sec by Drybar. I’ve recommended this product to so many of my friends. It does all the three things I want for my hair: it adds volume, texture, and gets rid of any oiliness. It makes my hair look super tousled and smell amazing.

I try to wash my hair less, but I wash it everyday. I use shampoo and conditioner from Orlando Pita’s Argan Hair Collection. My mom bought them at Costco two months ago and I’ve been using it since. I like the smell of them and the conditioner works well, but I won’t be repurchasing the shampoo. I feel like it dries out my hair.

IMG_1511

Anyway, hope ya’ll enjoyed this blog post and have a great day! I can’t believe it’s already May- 21 days till I’m outta high school and on my way to Korea! Also, I committed to a college but I’ll save that for another post 😉

Love, Cait

2 thoughts on “Hair Routine & My Experience at Habit Salon

  1. really loving the haircolor on the fist picture, i’m asian too and tried dying my hair blonde myself like every week again for 2 months but it turned out orange blonde with a lots of warm tones 😦 now i’m going to try letting it dye by a hairdresser, not sure which color suits the best, but i’m so done with dark brown hair. i’m afraid that if i let it bleach again that my hair breaks off 😦 after you died your hair, was it really death or wasn’t it so bad ?

    Like

    1. Hi! I used to dye my hair with a box dye and it never affected the texture of my hair. It stayed really soft and healthy-looking, but once I got it bleached professionally, my hair’s texture changed a lot. It’s more rough and dull-looking. The hairdresser will be able to fix your orangey/brassy undertones with toner! In the meantime, I would recommend you use some treatment masks and stay away from hot tools/dye. Good luck!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

