My Experience with Eyelash Extensions

84e5ee4de41965c3eb94f793a79e1185

After months of considering eyelash extensions, I finally hopped on the bandwagon and got my first full set of lashes last month. Prior to getting extensions I used mink strip lashes from Velour Lashes. Although I absolutely loved the lashes and the flexibility of choosing different styles for different occasions, I wanted a more permanent option. Let’s just say I’m obsessed with extensions and my morning routine is so so quick now.

Procedure: On average, the procedure will take about 1-2 hours for a full set and 0.5-1 hour for fills (touch ups). Go into your appointment with no eye makeup on. Your technician will then have you lie down and put on a sticky tape or pad under your eye so your lower lashes won’t get in the way of the application process. Unlike false strip or individual lashes that are applied onto your lash line, lash extensions are individual lashes that are attached to the base of each of your natural lash with a glue.

Lashes come in all length, density, and curls giving you the option to customize your look. You can opt for a cat eye look with longer lashes on the end or a doe-eyed look with longer lashes in the middle. It’s entirely up to you!

My first set of eyelash extensions were C curls and classics. Classic lashes look more natural. I don’t remember exactly what thickness and length she used, but I think she said she varied between 9-13mm lashes. My second set were D curls and volume lashes. I felt like the C curls weren’t curled enough, but the Ds definitely fixed the issue. I really don’t need to wear any eye makeup with the volume lashes which is so nice. I love the look of the volume lashes but now that I’ve had both styles, I think I’ll be getting D curls, classic in the future.

curlchart4

Aftercare: Your technician will tell you how long you need to wait before getting your lashes wet since curing time depends on the glue that’s used. Mine takes 4 hours to cure, however, I’ve heard some take as long as 48 hours (eeeekk)! My technician gave me two spoolies (lash brushes) and told me to comb through my lashes to shape and prevent clumps when needed.

Treat your lashes with some TLC if you want them to last as long as possible! A full set will probably last 6-8 weeks, but that’s assuming it’s not going to look anywhere as good as when you just got them. It’ll probably be very sparse by that point. Fills are recommended every 2-4 weeks, however these time spans are dependent on lash aftercare and growth which will vary by individuals.

I get my lashes wet when showering and washing my face, but just be sure to comb them out after. Never pinch them, just use your spooly to comb them through. Don’t wear waterproof mascara or any oil based products — that will counteract the glue and cause breakage and/or fallout. Using mascara is not recommended, but I do it every once in a while and have no problem! Also, make sure to use an oil-free makeup remover. I’ve been a fan of Neutrogena’s blue makeup remover since I started wearing makeup; I’ve lost track of how many bottles I’ve used. Anyway, although it claims to be oil-free, it does have an oil layer in the middle which is why I use Almay’s makeup remover. I use a q-tip but word of advice, be careful when using q-tips and makeup wipes cause the lint can catch on to your lashes, easily pulling your extensions out.

Two things that are not recommended but I did: When I first got the C curls, I didn’t feel like they were curled enough so I curled mine really carefully with an eyelash curler a few times. That’s recommended against, but I didn’t have a problem with it 🙂 I also wore false strip lashes about 4 times with the C curls (again because they weren’t curled enough) and with that, I experienced some lash fallout when I took them off. Now, that being said, if you feel like you need to curl your lashes or put on extra lashes, your extensions aren’t probably curled or dense enough (which is why I chose D curls the second time).

*first two photos: D curl, volume // last photo: C curl, classic

Cost and Worth: Eyelash extensions aren’t cheap!! I thought about them for months before getting them. I considered lash growth serums like Latisse since they’re around the same price and an even more permanent option, but I knew the effects weren’t going to be anywhere near as dramatic as extensions. I was conflicted because I didn’t want to feel like I was wasting money on something so expensive if I didn’t like it, but I’m so glad I got them. My suggestion to those who are considering eyelash extensions are, if you have the money and time, 100% try them out!! Now my college budget won’t be able to support this lavish beauty lifestyle for too much longer, but I will definitely be getting extensions whenever I can 😉

2 thoughts on “My Experience with Eyelash Extensions

Leave a Reply

