Coconut Blueberry Muffins

Now that I’m all moved into my new house and don’t have someone cooking for me (or money to eat out for that matter), I’m always searching for easy, yummy recipes to try at home. Introducing my new favorite breakfast/snack recipe: amazing, easy, healthy coconut blueberry muffins. Omg you need to try these. I’ve been eating this everyday for breakfast (great with coffee) and as a snack whenever I need a pick me up.

My best friend’s mom actually introduced me to them and I’ve been hooked ever since. These muffins are packed with chia seeds, blueberries, coconut oil, and other greatness. White, bleached flour is really unhealthy but this recipe uses coconut flour so not only is it so much healthier, but it’s also gluten-free.

blueberry muffins

This recipe is from The Kitchen Table by Nutiva. I follow the recipe but I use less coconut oil and raw honey than suggested. I think it’s a healthier alternative and still tastes amazing. Although the recipe calls for coconut milk, I’ve just been using almond milk cause that’s what I have on hand. I’ve had both variations though and haven’t noticed that big of a difference since the coconut oil and flour gives the muffins its coconut flavor.

Also, feel free to try other berries too! I’ve put in blackberries and raspberries when I didn’t have enough blueberries. I’m not a huge fan of chocolate chips (esp. for breakfast) but that could also be a delicious alternative for chocolate fans!

There may seem like there’s a lot of batter left over for 12 muffins, but you can fill up the muffin tray all the way since the batter doesn’t rise too much. Since I live alone at the moment and am the only one eating them, I just store whatever I don’t eat and microwave when ready.

Ingredients

Ingredients: The recipe is linked above, I modified the ingredient measurements ever so slightly.

  • 1 cup coconut flour
  • ½ tsp sea salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • about 1/4 cup raw honey
  • 1 cup coconut milk (or whatever milk you have)
  • 6 eggs
  • 4 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil (is what the recipe says, I use probably 1/6 cup)
  • ¼ cup chia seeds
  • 1 cup blueberries

Seriously try them –  you won’t regret it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

