bareMinerals Original Foundation Broad Spectrum SPF 15

Hi everyone! I wanted to review my current foundation, the bareMinerals Original Foundation Broad Spectrum SPF 15 ($28.50, 0.28oz). I’ve been using it everyday since I bought it back in March and it’s become one of my favorite foundations. I heard so much about this product for years and after using one of my friend’s, I knew I had to purchase it.

This is a loose mineral powder foundation with a  dewy finish. Bare Escentuals claims it’s “clinically proven to promote clearer, healthier-looking skin” and since it has no “parabens, binders, fillers, or synthetic chemicals,” it makes this foundation perfect for those with sensitive skin like myself.

bare minerals before after

This foundation feels lightweight and has great coverage for an everyday foundation. A lot of my redness wasn’t captured in the before photo but this foundation is really good at covering skin discoloration/unevenness/redness. I don’t consider this a full coverage foundation though so it is a good idea to double up with concealer if you have more problematic areas. I use the shade golden-medium and although it’s a tad light for me right now, I love that I finally found a foundation with an undertone that I don’t find too pink for my yellow undertone.

I’ve mentioned this in my previous blog post but I have combination skin and in the summer, my T-zone gets even more oily. I purchased this foundation back in March when my face was drier, so this foundation looked great for about 5 hours before I thought I needed to blot my face. Now that it’s summer though, this foundation doesn’t stay on for as long and it becomes very wet looking within 2-3 hours. It doesn’t look bad, but it could use a touchup. However for the price, I still love this foundation! I only own one Bare Minerals product (this foundation) but can’t wait to try more — I’ve been eyeing a lot of their products.

I use the Real Technique’s expert face brush to apply this foundation and I love this brush (it’s cheap and super soft). It’s perfect for buffing the foundation into my skin. I tap the product onto the lid, then really swirl my brush in the lid before applying. To ensure even coverage and no patchiness,  I don’t use a heavy hand when swirling the brush onto my skin. That way, the product isn’t concentrated in one area of the face.

bare minerals golden medium

Is it worth it? Yes! I’ll definitely be repurchasing this foundation. I’ve been using this everyday since March and for its price, it exceeds my expectations and I have so much product left. Only downside is its lasting power on my combination skin (especially in the summer months), but perfect for the cooler months. I don’t recommend for oily skin, and for those with dry skin, this leaves your skin looking hydrated! I’ve put this on flaky, patchy areas and it didn’t make it look worse. Definitely give this foundation a try! 🙂

Leave a Reply

